RRC PN (2005-06) 02

Session 2005-06        2 November 2005

Committee to take evidence from Minister on Operation of Regulatory Reform Act

The Regulatory Reform Committee is to take oral evidence from Rt Hon John Hutton MP, Duchy of Lancaster and Minister for Regulatory Reform, Cabinet Office, on the operation of the Regulatory Reform Act 2001 and the Government's proposals to amend the legislation in the wake of the recent public consultation.

The evidence session will be held on Tuesday 8 November at 9.35 am in a Committee Room at the House of Commons. 

Access to committee rooms in the Palace of Westminster is via St Stephen's Entrance. It is advisable to allow about 10 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in the Committee Rooms.

As Committee Rooms are liable to change, those attending are advised to check the room location on arrival. The Committee Office recorded information line (020 7219 2033) provides details of select and standing committee meetings being held within the next two days.

Notes for Editors

1. The Regulatory Reform Committee has the task of examining and reporting to the House on every document containing proposals laid before the House under section 6 of the Regulatory Reform Act and every draft order proposed to be made under section 1 of that Act. The Committee also oversees the operation of the regulatory reform procedure.

2. Since the passage of the Regulatory Reform Act, 27 regulatory reform orders have been made. Copies of all proposals and draft Orders are available on the Cabinet Office website at http://www.cabinet-office.gov.uk/regulation/rra/rro/proposals.asp

3. The Members of the Committee are:

Andrew Miller - Labour - Ellesmere Port & Neston (Chairman)
Gordon Banks - Labour - Ochil and South Perthshire
Mr James Gray - Conservative - North Wiltshire
Stephen Hammond - Conservative - Wimbledon
John Hemming - Liberal Democrat - Birmingham, Yardley
Mrs Sharon Hodgson - Labour - Gateshead East & Washington West
Mr Stewart Jackson - Conservative - Peterborough
Dr Doug Naysmith - Labour - Bristol North West
Mr Jamie Reed - Labour - Copeland
Bob Russell - Liberal Democrat - Colchester
Alison Seabeck - Labour - Plymouth, Devonport
Mr Andrew Slaughter - Labour - Ealing, Acton & Shepherd's Bush
Ms Angela C Smith - Labour - Sheffield, Hillsborough
Mr Anthony Steen - Conservative - Totnes

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact Mick Hillyard, Clerk of the Committee (020 7219 2830);  or see the Committee's website www.parliament.uk/regrefcom