Regulatory Reform Committee press notice

Session 2004-05 15 December 2004


The Regulatory Reform Committee has concluded

"That the proposal for the Regulatory Reform (Prison Officers) (Industrial Action) Order 2004, which was laid before the House on 18th October, should be amended before a draft Order is laid before the House."

The Committee's full report is to be published as its Third Report of the 2004-05 Session and will be published on Friday 17 December.

The text of the report will also be available on the Committee's website from 3.30 pm on the day of publication. (

Notes for Editors

1. The Regulatory Reform (Prison Officers) (Industrial Action) Order 2004 was laid before Parliament on 18 October 2004.

2. Regulatory reform orders (RROs) made under the Regulatory Reform Act 2001 are able to reduce or remove burdens in primary legislation without the need for an amending Bill. The Government's proposals for RROs are subject to scrutiny by committees of both Houses of Parliament.

3. The Regulatory Reform Committee has the task of examining and reporting to the House on every document containing proposals laid before the House under section 6 of the Regulatory Reform Act and every draft order proposed to be made under section 1 of that Act. The Committee also oversees the operation of the regulatory reform procedure.

4. Copies of all proposals and draft Orders are available on the Cabinet Office website at

5. The Members of the Committee are:

Mr Peter Pike (Lab, Burnley) (Chairman)
Mr Russell Brown (Lab, Dumfries)
Brian Cotter (Lib Dem, Weston-Super-Mare)
Mr Jeffrey M. Donaldson (DUP, Lagan Valley)
Mr Dai Havard (Lab, Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney)
Mr Mark Lazarowicz (Lab, Edinburgh N & Leith)
Andy King (Lab, Rugby and Kenilworth)
Mr Andrew Love (Lab/Co-op, Edmonton)
Mr John MacDougall (Lab, Central Fife)
Chris Mole (Lab, Ipswich)
Mr Denis Murphy (Lab, Wansbeck)
Dr Doug Naysmith (Lab/Co-op, Bristol NW)
Mr Archie Norman (Con, Tunbridge Wells)
Andrew Rosindell (Con, Romford)
Mr Anthony Steen (Con, Totnes)
Brian White (Lab, Milton Keynes NE)

For further information on the work of the Committee, contact the Clerk of the Committee (020 7219 2830) or see the Committee's website: (