Quadripartite Committee: Formal Minutes


The Defence, Foreign Affairs, International Development and Trade and Industry Committees met concurrently, pursuant to Standing Order No. 137A.

Members present

Defence Committee
Mr David S Borrow
Linda Gilroy

Foreign Affairs Committee
Mike Gapes
Sir John Stanley
Richard Younger-Ross

International Development Committee
John Barrett
Mr John Bercow
Richard Burden
Mr Jeremy Hunt

Trade and Industry Committee
Roger Berry
Mr Lindsay Hoyle
Peter Luff
Judy Mallaber

1. Roger Berry was called to the Chair in accordance with Standing Order No. 137A(1)(d).

2. Quorum of the Committees

The Trade and Industry Select Committee agreed to seek a reduction to three Members for its quorum for Quadripartite meetings for any purpose other than deliberating or taking evidence.

3. The Committees deliberated in accordance with Standing Order No. 137A(1)(b).

4. Strategic Export Controls

Mr Mark Fuchter, Head of the Prohibitions and Restrictions Policy Group, HM Revenue and Customs and Revenue, Mr Kevin Franklin, Director, Frontiers Customer Unit, HM Customs and Revenue, Mr David Green QC, Director of Revenue and Customs Prosecution Office, Mr David Richardson, Head of Division C (Border Detections), Revenue and Customs Prosecution Office, and Ms Helen Wolkind, Senior Lawyer, Revenue and Customs Prosecution Office. gave oral evidence.

[Defence Committee Adjourned till Tuesday 13 June at half past Nine o'clock
Foreign Affairs Committee Adjourned till Wednesday 7 June at Two o'clock
International Development Committee Adjourned till Tuesday 6 June at a quarter past Ten o'clock
Trade and Industry Committee Adjourned till Tuesday 6 June at half past Ten o'clock]