Formal Minutes


The Defence, Foreign Affairs, International Development and Trade and Industry Committees met concurrently, pursuant to Standing Order No. 137A.

Members present

Defence Committee
Mr David Crausby
Linda Gilroy

Foreign Affairs Committee
Mike Gapes
Mr Paul Keetch
Sir John Stanley

International Development Committee
John Barratt
John Battle
Richard Burden

Trade and Industry Committee
Roger Berry
Mr Lindsay Hoyle
Peter Luff
Judy Mallaber


Roger Berry was called to the Chair, pursuant to Standing Order No. 137A(1)(d).

2.Strategic export controls and review of export control legislation

The Committees considered the course of their inquiry and deliberated in accordance with Standing Order No. 137A(1)(b).

Resolved, that Memoranda laid before the Committees be published [4 and 17-26].

3.Oral evidence

Mr Gareth R. Thomas MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Department for International Development, Mr Kenny Dick, Deputy Head (Security and Justice) of Conflict, Humanitarian and Security Department (CHASE), and Ms Kate Joseph, Security Policy Adviser, CHASE, Department for International Development; Mr Mark Fuchter, Head of Prohibitions and Restrictions Group, and Mr Guy Westhead, Deputy Director of Frontiers and International Directorate, HM Revenue and Customs, Mr David Green Q.C, Director, and Mr David Richardson, Head of Division, Revenue and Customs Prosecution Office, gave oral evidence.

[Defence Committee Adjourned till Tuesday 6 March at 9.30 am Foreign Affairs Committee Adjourned till Wednesday 7 March at 2 pm
International Development Committee Adjourned till Tuesday 6 March at 10.30 am
Trade and Industry Committee Adjourned till Monday 5 March at 3.15 pm]