Press Notice 24, Session 2005-06

6 March 2006

PASC to hear from former Permanent Secretaries about Politics and the Civil Service

On Thursday 9 March PASC-the Public Administration Select Committee-will be taking evidence in public on its inquiry into Politics and Administration: Ministers and Civil Servants from Sir Nicholas Montagu KCB, Sir David Omand GCB, Sir Michael Quinlan GCB and Sir Robin Young KCB.

These distinguished witnesses have all had long experience of the Civil Service, and have served as Permanent Secretaries.  They are well placed to discuss whether or not the Civil Service is becoming more political, the case for a “Governance Code for Government”, the extent of Ministerial influence on Civil Service postings and the impact of recruiting a significant proportion of senior civil servants from outside.

The evidence session will take place on Thursday 9 March in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House, London SW1.

10.00 a.m. Sir Nicholas Montagu KCB, Sir David Omand GCB, Sir Michael Quinlan GCB, and Sir Robin Young KCB

Full details of the Committee’s inquiry can be found at


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005.  Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service. The Membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), Julia Goldsworthy (Lib Dem) (Falmouth & Camborne), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Grant Shapps (Con) (Welwyn Hatfield), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724/07917 488 447, email -

Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 for information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on