Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notice

23 February 2010


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) will this week hear from Rt Hon Liam Byrne MP, the Chief Secretary to the Treasury, about the Government’s plans for “Smarter Government”. The session is part of PASC’s short inquiry into public administration and the fiscal squeeze.

The session will be held on Thursday 25th February, at 10.00am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House.

The Government’s Smarter Government report (published December 2009) set out a number of proposed reforms that aim to make government work more efficiently and result in £12 billion of savings in public spending. PASC will focus on the implications of those reforms for central government and public services. The session is expected to cover the following issues:

• The level and nature of expected cuts to public spending (both the savings announced in the Smarter Government report and wider expenditure cuts)

• Possible effects on the size and organisation of central government and the civil service, especially in light of the Smarter Government report’s intention to “streamline” government and create a “sharper, leaner” centre of government

• Implications for public services, in particular the Government’s commitment to “empower” people by giving them firm entitlements to public service provision

PASC’s short inquiry into public administration and the fiscal squeeze is looking at how ministers and public servants can conduct the business of government most effectively in the face of likely future public spending cuts. PASC’s particular focus is the impact of the current economic situation on government administration and public services, rather than on the economics of deficit reduction.

For further information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgwater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on