Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

25 November 2009


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) will hold a pre-appointment hearing this week with Rt Hon Lord (Ian) Lang, the Prime Minister’s preferred candidate for Chair of the Advisory Committee on Business Appointments (ACoBA).

The hearing will be held on Thursday 26th November, at 10.00am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House.

As Rt Hon Ian Lang MP, Lord Lang was Secretary of State for Scotland and subsequently President of the Board of Trade during John Major’s government. He is a Conservative Member of the House of Lords.

ACoBA provides advice to the Prime Minister and Foreign Secretary on the application of the rules on the acceptance of outside appointments to very senior members of the Civil Service and Diplomatic Service. These rules apply to those wishing to take up appointments up to two years after leaving Crown service.

ACoBA also advises ministers about outside appointments that they intend to take up within two years of leaving office. The rules that apply to Civil Servants do not apply to ministers. However, Ministers are required by the Ministerial Code to seek and act upon the Committee’s advice.

The purpose of the session is to establish Lord Lang’s suitability for the post by asking questions about his:

• professional competence and personal independence;

• the selection process for the post;

• the possible impact of his political allegiance on his work; and

• his thoughts about the future operation of the Advisory Committee.

For further information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:


More information about pre-appointment hearings can be found in the Liaison Committee’s Report First Report of Session 2007-08 Pre-appointment hearings by select committees (HC 384) and the Government’s Response (HC 594)

Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

 Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on