Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

06 November 2009


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) will take evidence from the former Prime Minister, Sir John Major, on Tuesday 10th November.

Earlier this year Sir John called for a number of reforms to the way governments are appointed. He proposed the appointment of a “small number” of Ministers of State who would not be members of either House of Parliament, but would be accountable to both, and a reduction in the overall number of ministers.

The Committee’s inquiry is examining how Prime Ministers have sought to bring greater expertise into government. Issues of interest to the Committee include:

• The constitutional and practical implications of appointing government ministers from outside the Commons;

• Whether recent ministerial appointments to the House of Lords have been a success or not;

• Whether such appointees are sufficiently accountable;

• The case for and against appointing advisers and “tsars”; and

• The increasing size of government and the role of unpaid ministers.

The session will be held on Tuesday 10th November, at 11.00am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House.


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

 Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on

Terms of reference for the Committee’s inquiry can be found here: