Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

30 June 2009


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) is to hold a follow-up session six months after the publication of its report Lobbying: Access and influence in Whitehall. The Committee will hear from representatives of the lobbying industry, campaigners for lobbying transparency and the Government on what progress has been made on lobbying reform in the wake of the report's recommendations. Subjects that may come up include the industry's consultation on the setting up of a single self-regulatory body and the Government's likely response to the Committee's report - a response that was due in March but has yet to be produced.

The session will be held on Thursday 2 July, at 10.00am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House. The witnesses will be:

At 10.00 am: Campaigners for lobbying transparency

€ Tamasin Cave, Coordinator, Alliance for Lobbying Transparency;

€ Peter Facey, Director, Unlock Democracy; and

€ Owen Espley, Corporate Power Campaigner, Friends of the Earth.

At 10:30 am: Representatives of the lobbying industry

€ Mark Adams, Convenor of the Public Affairs Council Working Party;

€ Robbie MacDuff, Chair of the Association of Professional Political Consultants;

€ Keith Johnston, Chair of the Chartered Institute of Public Relations Government Affairs Group; and

€ Francis Ingham, Director General of the Public Relations Consultants Association

At 11.00 am: Cabinet Office

€ Rt Hon Angela Smith MP, Minister for the Third Sector, Cabinet Office

PASC's report was published on 5 January 2009 and examined the case for regulating the lobbying of ministers and civil servants. It recommended:

€ ethical enforcement through a common code of conduct for lobbyists enforced by a regulatory body;

€ transparency, through a statutory register of lobbyists; and

€ stronger rules to govern the "revolving door" between Government and the business world.


Committee's Report: The Public Administration Select Committee's First Report of Session 2008-09, Lobbying: Access and influence in Whitehall (HC 36) was published on 5 January 2009. It can be downloaded from:

Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgwater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on