Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

23 June 2009


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) is to hold a session on preparations for the 2011 Census. The Committee will take evidence from the Office for National Statistics, who are responsible for conducting the Census, and Lockheed Martin UK Ltd, who were awarded the contract last year to develop IT systems for the Census.

The session will be held on Thursday 25 June, at 10.00am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House. The witnesses will be:

• Dame Karen Dunnell, National Statistician and Chief Executive, Office for National Statistics;

• Glen Watson, Census Director, Office for National Statistics; and

• Graham Emmons, Census 2011 Programme Director, Lockheed Martin UK Ltd.

The 2011 Census will be the twenty-first census to be carried out in England and Wales. It is an enormous logistical undertaking, carried out once every ten years, with a budget of £482 million and attempting to count every household in the UK. The Census’s output provides information on population numbers and household characteristics to government, local authorities, public services, researchers and the commercial world. There has been concern that the 2001 Census produced inaccurate results, controversy over the selection of questions for the Census and opposition to involvement of Lockheed Martin as the main contractor. PASC will examine whether preparations are on track to ensure to deliver a comprehensive, timely and accurate Census in 2011.

Further information about the issues and questions being covered is online at:

For further information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:  


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgwater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

 Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on