Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

16 June 2009


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) is to hold a third full session in its inquiry into executive pay in the public sector. The hearing will be an opportunity to hear from a cross-section of those involved in setting pay at individual public bodies, as well as from the Senior Salaries Review Body, which advises Ministers on pay for parts of the public sector, including the senior civil service and sections of the NHS.

The session will be held on Thursday 18 June, at 10.00am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House. The witnesses will be:

At 10.00 am: Chairs of Public Bodies

• Tim Melville-Ross, Higher Education Funding Council for England

• Dr Anne Wright, National Lottery Commission, and

• Millie Banerjee, Ofcom Remuneration Committee

At 10.50 am: Senior Salaries Review Body

• Bill Cockburn, Chairman,

• Mike Langley, Member, and

• Keith Masson, Director of Secretariat

PASC’s inquiry is exploring how levels of pay and benefits for executive roles across the public sector are set and monitored-and whether they are set at the right level now. Further information about the issues and questions being covered is online at

For further information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:  


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

  Watch committees and parliamentary debates 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on