Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

1 June 2009


Further Report on Machinery of Government Changes

The House of Commons Public Administration Select Committee today publishes its Seventh Report of Session 2008-09, Further Report on Machinery of Government (with the Government Response to the Committee’s Eighth Report of Session 2007-08).

Since June 2007 the Committee has been in dialogue with the Government on whether the Prime Minister should continue to exercise near-absolute power to reorganise the Civil Service Departments.

Copies of the Report can be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number. The text of the Report will also be available via the Committee’s internet homepage:


1. For media inquiries please contact Liz Parratt 0207 219 1708

Further information:

Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Liz Parratt, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

  Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on