Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

28 April 2009


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) is to hold its first full session in its inquiry into executive pay in the public sector. The hearing will be an opportunity to hear from commentators from across the political spectrum, who are well-placed to explore public perceptions of the issues involved.

The session will be held on Thursday 30 April, at 10.00am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House. The witnesses will be:

• David Clark, Director General of Solace (the Society of Local Authority Chief Executives and Senior Managers)

• Ben Farrugia, Policy Analyst, TaxPayers’ Alliance

• Polly Toynbee, Journalist

• Tony Travers, Director of LSE London (a research centre at the London School of Economics)

PASC’s inquiry will explore how levels of pay and benefits for executive roles across the public sector are set and monitored-and whether they are set at the right level now. A further issue likely to be covered is how transparent public sector organisations are about the pay their executives receive. Further information about the issues and questions being covered is online at

For further information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

  Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on