Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

31 March 2009


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) is to take evidence from Sir Suma Chakrabarti, KCB, Permanent Secretary to the Ministry of Justice, for the final session in its inquiry into Leaks and Whistleblowing in Whitehall.

This session will also be an opportunity for the Committee to follow up issues that have arisen during the inquiry, including the effectiveness of the existing arrangements for preventing leaks and for investigating those that do take place. The Committee is also likely to explore the particular challenges which Departments may face as a result of off-the-record briefings by politicians and political staff.

The session will be held on Thursday 2 April, at 10.00am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House.

PASC’s inquiry into Leaks and Whistleblowing in Whitehall is looking at the effects of leaks on the operations of government, the steps taken to investigate and prevent occurrences and how to decide whether the public interest is best served by keeping information confidential or disclosing it.

For further information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:  


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

  Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on