Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

17 March 2009


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) is continuing its inquiry into Leaks and Whistleblowing in Whitehall by hearing from a panel of ex civil servants about the different actions they took when  faced with a situation they believed to be wrong.

On Thursday 19 March, at 10.00am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House, the Committee will hear from:.

• Katharine Gun, a former GCHQ translator who leaked an e-mail from U.S. intelligence agents which asked British officers to tap phones of certain nations voting on war against Iraq

• Dr Brian Jones, previously of the Defence Intelligence Staff, who gave evidence to the Hutton inquiry about his team’s attempts to tone down the claims in the WMD dossier, and about his work with Dr David Kelly, who anonymously briefed the BBC about his concerns in this area

• Derek Pasquill, a former Foreign Office official who leaked documents about the government’s attitude to secret CIA rendition flights & links to Muslim groups

• (by video link at 11.15am) Carne Ross, a former British diplomat, who had concerns that the claims in the WMD dossier were inaccurate and gave secret testimony about this to the Butler Review, before resigning

The session is an opportunity to explore why some civil servants feel compelled to leak information and some don’t and what wider lessons can be learnt from the experiences of the witnesses.

PASC’s inquiry into Leaks and Whistleblowing in Whitehall is looking at the effects of leaks on the operations of government, the steps taken to investigate and prevent occurrences and how to decide whether the public interest is best served by keeping information confidential or disclosing it.

For further information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:  


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

 Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on