Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

9 March 2009


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) is to hear from representatives of civil service unions on three separate inquiries.

Jonathan Baume, General Secretary,  FDA, Paul Noon, General Secretary, Prospect, and Charles Cochrane,  Public and Commercial Services Union, will offer the perspective of the unions and the unionised workforce on Leaks and Whistleblowing in Whitehall, Outside Appointments to the Senior Civil Service and Executive Pay in the Public Sector.

This will be the PASC’s first opportunity to ask questions in its new inquiry into executive pay in the public sector, and will gauge the Unions’ views of the systems in place for determining pay and other benefits for people at the top of public sector organisations, their actual levels of pay, and public perceptions around these issues.

The session will also provide the opportunity to seek the Unions’ views of how civil servants should behave in situations in which they are tempted to leak information, and how to improve authorised procedures for them to raise their concerns.

On Outside Appointments to the Senior Civil Service, the Committee will explore issues including levels of external recruitment, pay differentials between internal and external recruits, performance and value for money of outside appointees, and effects of external recruitment on the civil service as a whole.

The session will be held on Thursday 12 March at 10.00am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House.

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:  


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

  Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on