Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

23 February 2009


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) is to take evidence from Rt Hon Liam Byrne MP, Minister for the Cabinet Office, on its inquiries into Good Government and Leaks and Whistleblowing. This will be the first time that PASC has heard from Liam Byrne.

The hearing will be the final session in PASC’s examination of Good Government, allowing the Committee to question the Minister on points that have arisen during the inquiry. The issues likely to be covered in the evidence session include the performance and capability of the civil service, the role of ministers in ensuring good government, the effects of highly centralised government, and how to improve government performance and policy delivery.

The session also provides an opportunity to hear a ministerial perspective on arrangements for managing leaks within Whitehall and on the suitability of the channels provided for civil servants to blow the whistle internally, while also exploring related issues around off-the-record briefings by politicians and political staff.

The session will be held on Thursday 26 February at 10.00am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House.

PASC’s Good Government inquiry is looking at how effective government is at making and implementing policies, and seeing them delivered successfully. It also considers how well government departments are able to oversee the continuing operations of government. PASC has looked at many related issues over the past decade. This inquiry is an opportunity to take stock of what the Committee has learned from its various investigations, and to hear from others with experience of trying to improve how government works.

Its inquiry into Leaks and Whistleblowing in Whitehall is looking at the effects of leaks on the operations of government, the steps taken to investigate and prevent occurrences and how to decide whether the public interest is best served by keeping information confidential or disclosing it.

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

 Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on