Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

5 February 2009


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) is to take evidence from the Committee on Standards in Public Life (CSPL) about its work over the past year, including examining the achievements of Sir Christopher Kelly during his first year as Chairman, as well as his views on CSPL’s future priorities. The session will also provide the opportunity to explore the public standards issues around current areas of concern, such as recent events in the House of Lords.

PASC will also explore with the witnesses the public standards perspective relating to the Committee’s ongoing work on Leaks and Whistleblowing in Whitehall.

The witnesses will be

• Sir Christopher Kelly, Chair of the Committee on Standards in Public Life

• Dr Brian Woods-Scawen, Member of Committee on Standards in Public Life

The evidence session will be held on Tuesday 10 February at 2pm in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House.

The Committee on Standards in Public Life was set up by John Major as Prime Minister in response to issues around “sleaze”, and has since played a large role in designing and reviewing the framework for encouraging ethical behaviour in government and throughout public life.

PASC’s inquiry into Leaks and Whistleblowing in Whitehall is looking at the effects of leaks on the operations of government, the steps taken to investigate and prevent occurrences and how to decide whether the public interest is best served by keeping information confidential or disclosing it.

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:  


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

  Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on