Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

27 January 2009


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) is to re-open its inquiry into Equitable Life. This follows the Government’s response earlier this month to a report from the Parliamentary Ombudsman.

At a session on Thursday 29 January at 10.00am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House, PASC will hear in turn from:

• The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman, Ann Abraham, and her investigation manager, Iain Ogilvie

• Equitable Life Assurance Society’s Chief Executive, Charles Thomson and Corporate Services Director, Simon Skinner (at about 10.50 am)

• Equitable Members’ Action Group committee members Paul Braithwaite, John Newman and Colin Slater (at about 11.10 am)

The session is likely to focus on the cogency of the Government’s response, on understanding the detail of the Government’s proposals and on exploring how they could be implemented most efficiently, on the implications for the office of the Parliamentary Ombudsman, and on the impact on public trust in financial regulation.

A further session with a Treasury Minister will be announced shortly.


In July last year, the Ombudsman made ten findings of maladministration against the prudential regulators of Equitable Life and the Government Actuary’s Department. In December, PASC published a report, Justice Delayed, supporting the Ombudsman and calling on the Government to set up an independent tribunal to pay compensation for losses suffered as a result of official maladministration. PASC’s Report is available online at:

The Government has accepted some of the Ombudsman’s findings, and has apologised for the findings it has accepted. However, the Government has rejected a number of the Ombudsman’s findings, and does not propose to establish a compensation scheme to make good the losses suffered by Equitable Life policyholders-even those that occurred as a result of the maladministration it accepts took place. Instead, the Government has indicated that it will make ex gratia payments to some of the policyholders to make up some of their losses, and there have been suggestions that these payments may be means-tested.

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

 Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on