Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

7 October 2008


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) concludes its short examination of the impact of the “public benefit” test on charities with a session with the Charity Commission, which has been engaged in lengthy consultation on the issue. This will also be an opportunity to look more widely at the Commission’s work over the past year and its plans for the future.

The Commission has been holding a series of consultations and producing guidelines on the new requirements on charities to ensure that they are acting in the public benefit. During the course of the last few months PASC has heard from representatives of religious charities, private schools and other fee-charging charities, such as private hospitals, on how they plan to show that they meet this new test.

The Charity Commission is now finalising its guidance and beginning its programme of public benefit assessment, and this meeting is an opportunity for PASC to review progress and to ask the Commission for their responses to the questions that have been raised in earlier sessions, as well as to ask questions about the Commission’s work more widely. The Committee will meet on Thursday 9 October, at 10:00 am, in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House.

Witnesses will be:

• Dame Suzi Leather, Chair, Charity Commission;

• Andrew Hind, Chief Executive, Charity Commission;

• Rosie Chapman, Executive Director, Policy and Effectiveness; and

• Kenneth Dibble, Executive Director, Legal and Compliance, Charity Commission

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:  


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central).

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on