Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

17 November 2008


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) this week takes evidence for the first time from the UK Statistics Authority. The Authority was established as a body independent of Government to promote and safeguard the production and publication of official statistics that serve the public good. The Office of National Statistics is its executive office.

The Committee assumed oversight of this body in April 2008 when the Authority was created, and the session will offer an opportunity to review its early progress, as well as to explore current issues relating to statistics.

Issues the Committee is expected to cover in this session include:

€ the UK Statistics Authority's early plans, priorities and performance

€ public trust in statistics

€ advance access to statistics for government ministers and civil servants

€ the 2011 Census

The Committee will meet on Thursday 20 November, at 10am in the Wilson Room, Portcullis House. Witnesses will be:

€ Sir Michael Scholar, Chair, UK Statistics Authority

€ Karen Dunnell, National Statistician and Chief Executive, Office for National Statistics

€ Richard Alldritt, Head of Assessment, UK Statistics Authority

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on