Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notices

27 October 2008


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) is holding a session with Ann Abraham, the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman.

This will be the first of a number of public hearings on the issues raised by the Ombudsman’s recent report: Equitable Life: a decade of regulatory failure, which identifies a series of administrative failings by the prudential regulators of Equitable Life and by the Government Actuary’s Department. The key issue is how to remedy these failings. Her central recommendation is that the Government should establish and fund a compensation scheme for those affected.

PASC is also likely to investigate the wider questions raised by the report, including the potential impact on the public purse of payment of compensation in cases of this kind.

PASC will also be continuing its regular programme of parliamentary scrutiny by questioning the Ombudsman on her office’s wider work. Issues raised are likely to include: the targets and outturns of the Ombudsman’s office, proposals for reform of the legal system of administrative redress, and the additional responsibilities for NHS complaints that the Ombudsman will take on from April 2009.

The session will be held on Thursday 30 October at 10.15am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House.

Further sessions on Equitable Life have been scheduled for 2 pm on Tuesday 11 November, and 10 am on Thursday 13 November. Other hearings will be announced in due course.

For further information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:  


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on