Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notice

8 July 2008


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) this week begins its examination of official statistics. The Committee took on responsibility for this area in April, and the session will offer an opportunity to hear views from a range of experts on current issues in the world of statistics, particularly in the light of the creation of the new UK Statistics Authority.

Issues the Committee is expected to cover include:

• the new governance arrangements for statistics, and the extent to which they will strengthen the independence and robustness of official statistics across government, and public trust in statistics

• the UK Statistics Authority’s plans and proposals, for monitoring statistical issues across government and for running the 2011 Census among other things

• pre-release access to statistics by government ministers and civil servants.

The Committee will meet on Thursday 10 July, at 10.00 am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House. Witnesses will be:

• Simon Briscoe, Statistics Editor, Financial Times

• Michael Fallon MP, Chairman, Treasury Sub-Committee, House of Commons

• Jill Leyland, Royal Statistical Society and Statistics User Forum

The Committee expects this to be an ongoing strand of work, with further evidence sessions likely in the autumn. For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) a