Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notice

18 June 2008


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) will this week hold the final session in its inquiry into lobbying when it takes evidence from the following Government Ministers:

• Tom Watson MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Cabinet Office

• Tom Harris MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for Transport

• Iain Wright MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for Communities and Local Government

In this session, PASC will explore Ministers’ experience of being lobbied and the regulatory environment around lobbying, both for Ministers and civil servants, and for lobbyists. Tom Watson represents the Cabinet Office, which is responsible for cross-government policy on lobbying, and for related issues, such as government rules on accepting gifts and hospitality. Tom Harris and Iain Wright are both likely to have recent experience of being lobbied. The Department for Transport lets multi-million pound contracts to train operating companies to run franchised rail passenger services. Iain Wright recently steered the Housing and Regeneration Bill through the House of Commons. The bill would support the delivery of three million new homes by 2020 and provide for the establishment of new settlements like eco-towns.

The evidence session will take place on Thursday 19 June at 10.00 am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House.

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:  


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more,