Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notice

19 May 2008


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) today launches an inquiry into ‘good government’. By ‘good government’, the Committee means:

  • How effective government is at making and implementing policies, and seeing them delivered successfully; and
  • How well departments are able to oversee the continuing operations of government.

The Committee is calling for interested organisations and individuals to submit evidence to the inquiry by Tuesday, 1st July 2008.

PASC has looked at many issues relating to good government over the past decade. This inquiry is an opportunity to take stock of what the Committee has learned from its various investigations, and to hear from others with experience of trying to improve how government works.

Some of the issues that the Committee expects to cover in the inquiry are:

  • Relationships between the centre of government, individual departments, frontline public sector workers, and citizens or service users;
  • Incentives on frontline workers to deliver services or implement policy effectively;
  • Standards of ethical conduct in government;
  • Policy and law making processes, and their effect on policy implementation;
  • The impact of a frequently changing policy environment (for example, new policy initiatives and structural reorganisations); and
  • Mechanisms for assessing and improving government performance.

For a fuller explanation of the issues and questions that the Committee would like addressed in evidence, please go to the Committee’s website:

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:  


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on