Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notice

14 May 2008


In a short report published today, the Commons Public Administration Committee (PASC) calls for the third time in a year for Government’s powers to reorganise the civil service to be subject to more effective Parliamentary scrutiny and control.

Committees usually publish the Government’s responses to their reports without comment. In a highly unusual step, PASC takes the opportunity provided by the Government’s latest response on this subject to continue the discussion. The Government’s response is published with the Report.

The Committee calls again for a debate and vote in Parliament on important government reorganisations. The current system “is putting the cart before the horse” by making the organisation of Government Departments automatically follow changes in ministers’ responsibilities. /ENDS


The Committee’s June 2007 report on machinery of government changes is available online at

The Government’s response (November 2007) is available online at

The Committee’s December 2007 report is available online at

Committee Membership is as follows: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 72190724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on