Public Administration Select Committee: Press Notice

Monday 21 April 2008


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) has called two evidence sessions for a first examination in public of proposals put forward in the Government’s Draft Bill and White Paper on Constitutional Renewal.

The Committee will look at those areas which it has covered in the past. The proposals to put the Civil Service on a statutory footing will be a focus. But the Committee will also examine issues around the “prerogative powers”, especially treaties and war powers. The Committee has itself published its own draft legislation in these areas.

The  Committee has arranged these sessions at speed, as it is proposed to set up a specially constituted Joint Committee to examine the draft bill in the near future.

In the first of two sessions on Thursday 24 April at 10.00 am in the Thatcher Room in Portcullis House the Committee will hear from Janet Paraskeva, the First Civil Service Commissioner,  and at 10.45 am constitutional experts Professor Peter Hennessy, Sir Robin Mountfield KCB and Professor Robert Blackburn.

In the second session on Tuesday 29 April 3.15 pm in Committee Room 15 in the Palace of Westminster the Committee will hear from Cabinet Office Minister Rt Hon Ed Miliband MP and the Cabinet Secretary Sir Gus O’Donnell KCB,  and at 4.30 pm from Michael Wills MP, Minister of State at the Ministry of Justice.

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:  


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on