Press Notice 21, Session 2007-08

19 February 2007


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) continues its inquiry into lobbying on Thursday by hearing from two members of the Advisory Committee on Business Appointments, including its Chairman, Lord Mayhew of Twysden, and also Lord Maclennan of Rogart.

The Advisory Committee on Business Appointments is the body which rules on applications from ministers and the most senior Crown servants who wish to take up outside appointments after they leave Crown service. This session will allow PASC to explore whether there is a public risk in allowing former ministers and Crown servants to move into organisations which lobby government, and if so, what can effectively be done to regulate the activity.

The evidence session will take place at 10.00am on Thursday 21 February in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House.

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at:


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 72190724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on