Press Notice 15, Session 2007-08

24 January 2008


The Government has made a “significant commitment of public funds” to support the victims of pension scheme wind-ups and deserves real credit, the Commons Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) says today.

The Government recently accepted the findings of Sir Andrew Young’s review, which said that victims of past wind-ups should receive the same level of benefits as victims of potential future scheme collapses. According to PASC this means that “at long last, we feel able to say that justice has been done”.

The decision follows years of pressure from the Committee, the Parliamentary Ombudsman and campaign groups such as the Pensions Action Group. The Committee hails the result in its annual report for 2007, published today, as “a superb advertisement for what parliamentary democracy can achieve.”

PASC’s report is not all good news for the Government, though - the Committee contrasts the treatment of pensioners with the unhappy failure to resolve the position of civilian internees during the Second World War. Some former internees remain excluded from compensation schemes, even under revised criteria. The report calls for an independent adjudicator to look at cases which “seem, on the face of it, to be just”.

A response is due to the Committee’s report on Propriety and Peerages (“cash for honours”) by mid-February.


For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at  


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 72190724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on