Press Notice 13, Session 2007-08

15 January 2008


The Public Administration Select Committee (PASC) is to conclude the Committee’s inquiry into commissioning public services from the Third Sector by hearing from a range of organisations with direct and indirect experience of providing services to the public through charities and other not-for-profit organisations.

The evidence session will take place on Thursday 17 January in the Grimond Room in Portcullis House.

At 10.00am the Committee will hear from a panel of people with hands-on experience of service delivery. The witnesses will be Selwyn Image, Vice-President and founder of Emmaus UK, who run communities providing shelter and work to homeless people in 14 locations across the country; Dr Sylvia Sham, who is the Director of the Wai Yin Chinese Women Society in Manchester; and Alex Whinnom of the Greater Manchester Centre for Voluntary Organisations.

At approximately 11.00am the Committee will then hear from national representative and support organisations for the Third Sector. The panel will consist of Stuart Etherington, Chief Executive of the NCVO, Peter Kyle, Strategy Director at Acevo, and Debra Allcock-Tyler, who is the Chief Executive of the Directory for Social Change.

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at  


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 72190724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on