Press Notice 6, Session 2007-08

03 December 2007


The Public Administration Select Committee's fourth report of the 2006-07 session, "Ethics and Standards: the regulation of conduct in public life", is to be debated in the House of Commons Chamber on Wednesday 5 December as the first item of business after questions and statements. The debate could begin at any time after 12:30pm, but is likely to start nearer to 2:00pm.

The report looked at issues around public trust in government, and whether there was a need for greater transparency in the process of government. The Committee called for a more permanent structure for regulating standards of conduct in public life. The report recommended that bodies regulating government - including the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments, and the Committee on Standards in Public Life - should be put onto a statutory footing, and be made constitutionally independent of government.

The debate is an opportunity to raise awareness of the report and discuss the issues it raises, as well as to consider the Government's response to the report. To read the report in full, go to

The Government's response is available at .

The debate can be watched live on BBC Parliament, or at .


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 72190724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on