Press Notice 5, Session 2007-08

3 December 2007


The Public Administration Select Committee will be taking evidence on Thursday from Janet Gaymer CBE, Commissioner for Public Appointments, and Rt Hon John McFall MP, Chairman of the Treasury Select Committee, to gauge reaction to the Government’s proposal that Parliament and its Committees should be involved in the appointment of key public officials.

Janet Gaymer is responsible for ensuring that public appointments are made on merit after fair and open competition. John McFall is a Committee Chairman who has had regular recent involvement in scrutinising the appointment of public officials, both at the Bank of England and the new Chair of the Statistics Board. The session gives the Committee a chance to hear their differing perspectives.

The evidence session will take place at 10.00am on Thursday 6 December in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House.

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at  


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 72190724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on