Press Notice 51, Session 2006-07

17 October 2007


The Public Administration Select Committee will tomorrow be holding the latest in its regular hearings on the work of the Parliamentary Ombudsman, Ann Abraham. The session follows the publication of the Ombudsman's Annual Report for 2006-07, containing detailed analysis of her performance and priorities.

Subjects for discussion may include the Ombudsman's latest report into Tax Credits, her continuing dissatisfaction with Continuing Care in the NHS, and her relationship with other complaints handling bodies such as the Healthcare Commission. This session also allows an opportunity to look at the overall performance of the Ombudsman's office.

The session will take place in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House on Thursday 18 October at 10.00am.


Committee Membership: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 72190724,

Specific Committee Information: Email: Tel: 020 7219 3284

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on