Press Notice 39, Session 2006-07

3 July 2007


PASC - the Public Administration Select Committee - is continuing its inquiry into Commissioning Public Services from the Third Sector by taking evidence from Campbell Robb, the Director-General of the Office of the Third Sector, John Stoker, the Compact Commissioner, and Richard Gutch of Futurebuilders England.

The Office of the Third Sector was created in May 2006 to co-ordinate Government policy towards the voluntary and community sector. It was placed in the Cabinet Office in recognition of the increasingly important role the sector plays in both society and the economy. The Office now leads on the Government’s drive to promote the provision of public services by charities, voluntary bodies and social enterprises.

Previous witnesses have questioned the reasons behind the Government’s policy, and whether it will really make a difference to service users. This session will allow Campbell Robb to clarify the Government’s position, while the other witnesses will provide commentary based on their experiences dealing with charities often struggling to adapt to public service delivery.

The evidence session will take place at 10.00 am on Thursday 5 July in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House.

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at  


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005. Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service.

The Membership of the Committee is as follows:
Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer, 020 7219 0724/07917 488 447, email -

Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 for information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).

Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on