Press Notice 24, Session 2006-07

24 April 2007

PASC to hear from service users and experts including former No 10 adviser Matthew Taylor on responsive public services

PASC - the Public Administration Select Committee - is continuing its inquiry into Public Services: Putting People First this Thursday when it will take further evidence on how citizens can be put at the heart of public services. The Committee will explore the benefits of user involvement and whether there are limits to its applications.

In the first part of the session, the Committee will look the service user's perspective, taking evidence from representatives of Mind, Mencap, Age Concern and Shaping our Lives (a service user network).

The Committee will then hear from David Boyle, of the new economics foundation, Sophia Parker, a Demos Associate, and Matthew Taylor, Chief Executive of the RSA and former Chief Adviser on Strategy to the Prime Minister..

The evidence session will take place at 10.00am on Thursday 26 April in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House.

At 10am Age Concern, Mencap, Mind, Shaping our Lives
At approx 11am David Boyle (nef), Sophia Parker, and Matthew Taylor (RSA)

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005. Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service.

The Membership of the Committee is as follows:
Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer, 020 7219 0724/07917 488 447, email -

Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 for information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).

Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on