Press Notice 19, Session 2006-07

19 March 2007

PASC to hear from experts on responsive public services

PASC - the Public Administration Select Committee - is continuing its inquiry into Public Services: Putting People First this Thursday when it will take evidence on how citizens can be put at the heart of public services.

The Committee will question Bernard Herdan, the author of a recent review of the Charter Mark, on the future role of the scheme. When the Citizen's Charter was launched in 1991 the then Prime Minister John Major stated that, ''People who depend on public services - patients, passengers, parents, pupils, benefit claimants - all must know where they stand and what service they have a right to expect". The Committee is considering how the Charter Mark, and minimum standards of service, could contribute to ensuring responsive public services.

The Committee is also considering how complaints are handled by public services. The Committee will also hear from Professor Patrick Dunleavy of LSE and Philip Cullum of the National Consumer Council on how government bodies can learn from complaints and improve their complaint handling. The session will also cover issues around the effectiveness of government consultation.

The evidence session will take place at 10.00am on Thursday 22 March in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House.

At 10am Bernard Herdan (Identity and Passport Service)

At approx 11am Professor Patrick Dunleavy (LSE) and Philip Cullum (National Consumer Council)

For more information about the work of the Committee, visit our website at <>  


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005. Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service. The Membership of the Committee is as follows:

Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Charles Walker (Con) (Broxbourne), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer, 020 7219 0724/07917 488 447, email -

Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 for information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).

Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on