Press Notice 02, Session 2006-07

  21 November 2006

PASC to hear from head of Government Communication

PASC - the Public Administration Select Committee - will be taking evidence from Howell James CBE, Permanent Secretary, Government Communication, on Thursday 23 November.

Over the last few months, government communications have once again been in the public eye as concerns have been raised about the cost and scale of the government communications staff. There have also been a few high profile disputes which have questioned the nature of the relationship between politics and the media . The Committee will be able to ask about Mr James’s role in such matters and the development of his post two years on from his appointment. It will also consider communications skills of the Civil Service more widely, and the effectiveness of the Government Communication Network.

The evidence session will be held on Thursday 23 November at 10am and will take place in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House, London.


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005.  Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service. The Membership of the Committee is as follows:

Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Grant Shapps (Con) (Welwyn Hatfield), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer, 020 7219 0724/07917 488 447, email -

Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 for information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).

Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on