Press Notice 61, Session 2005-06

12 October 2006

PASC to hear about long-term policy making on green issues

as part of strategy inquiry

The Public Administration Select Committee - PASC - is taking evidence on 17 October on how the Government conducts long-term thinking on environment policy and the role of the Government's Foresight Centre as part of the Committee's inquiry 'Governing the Future'.

The Committee will be questioning Jonathon Porritt of the Sustainable Development Commission, Professor Susan Owens of the Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution, and Jill Rutter who is the Director of Strategy and Sustainable Development in Defra on the way the Government conducts its future thinking on the environment - an issue where actions of today will have consequences far into the future. The role of departmental strategy units and external commissions in the forward thinking process will also be considered.

In the second part of the session the Committee will hear from Sir David King, the Government's Independent Chief Scientific Adviser, about the role of the Department of Science and Innovation's Foresight Centre, as well as the role of scientific advice in thinking about the future and related machinery of government issues.

The inquiry, Governing the Future, was launched in November 2005. Full details, including an issues and questions paper, are available on our website at

The evidence session will be held on Tuesday 17 October at 2.30 and will take place in the Room 8, Committee Corridor, House of Commons, London SW1.

At 2.30pm Prof Susan Owens (Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution), Jonathon Porritt CBE (Sustainable Development Commission), and Jill Rutter (Defra)

At approx

3.30pm Sir David King KB ScD FRS (Government's Chief Scientific Adviser and Head of the Office of Science and Innovation)


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005.  Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service. The Membership of the Committee is as follows:

Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Grant Shapps (Con) (Welwyn Hatfield), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724/07917 488 447, email -

Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 for information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).

Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on