Press Notice 45, Session 2005-06

5 June 2006

PASC to take further evidence for its Ethics inquiry

On Thursday 8 June the Public Administration Select Committee will be taking evidence in public for its inquiry into Ethics and Standards.

The Committee will hear first from Professor Anthony King, University of Essex and Dr David Hine, Oxford University, to explore with them established ideas about ministerial accountability and how these may have been affected by the setting up of independent ethical watchdogs and the operation of the ministerial code.

Lord Mayhew, Chairman of the Advisory Committee on Business Appointments, will also be giving evidence on the rules on business appointments and how they may need to change as a result of greater mobility between the civil service and the pubic sector.

The evidence session will take place on Thursday 8 June in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House, London SW1.

10.30 am Professor Anthony King, Dr David Hine


11.30 am Rt Hon Lord Mayhew of Twysden QC DL

Full details of all the Committee’s inquiries can be found on the PASC website at


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005.  Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service. The Membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Grant Shapps (Con) (Welwyn Hatfield), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724/07917 488 447, email -

Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 for information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on