Press Notice 43, Session 2005-06

15 May 2006

PASC to take evidence for its Ethics Inquiry from Baroness O'Neill, Peter Kellner and Professor John Curtice

The blossoming of ethical regulators in the mid 1990s might have been expected to have led to a strengthening of the public's trust and confidence in political institutions. This has not happened. On Thursday 18 May the Public Administration Select Committee will be taking evidence in public for its inquiry into Ethics and Standards in Public Life to ask why.

Research by the CSPL carried out in 2004 asked the public about how they thought that standards in public life compared with a few years ago. Few saw any significant changes either way and the largest group felt that standards remained the same.

Baroness O'Neill was made a life peer in 1999 and gave the 2002 Reith Lectures on public trust; Peter Kellner is Chair of YouGov and Professor John Curtice is Professor of Politics at the University of Strathclyde.

The evidence session will take place on Thursday 18 May in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House, London SW1.

10.00 am Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve CBE FBA, Peter Kellner and Professor John Curtice

Full details of all the Committee's inquiries can be found on the PASC website at


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005. Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service. The Membership of the Committee is as follows:

Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Grant Shapps (Con) (Welwyn Hatfield), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724/07917 488 447, email -

Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 for information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).

Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on