Press Notice 42, Session 2005-06

12 May 2006

PASC to hear from Sir Gus O’Donnell and the House of Lords Appointments Commission about Honours and Peerages

On Tuesday 16 May the Public Administration Select Committee will be taking evidence in public for its inquiry into Ethics and Standards in Public Life. The session is intended principally to consider propriety issues concerning the honours system. It will provide an opportunity to discover from the Cabinet Secretary and the Appointments Commission how they administer the system for vetting nominations for honours and peerages, what considerations are taken into account and what information is required on nominees. It will also allow the Committee to explore the structure and arrangements of this part of the regulatory landscape following the merger of the Honours Scrutiny Committee with the Appointments Commission and the desirability of further changes.

The evidence session will take place on Tuesday 16 May in Committee Room 15, Palace of Westminster, London SW1.

10.00 am Sir Gus O’Donnell

approx 11.00 am Lord Stevenson of Coddenham CBE, Rt Hon Lord Hurd of Westwell CH CBE, Angela Sarkis CBE

Full details of all the Committee’s inquiries can be found on the PASC website at


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005.  Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service. The Membership of the Committee is as follows:

Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Paul Rowen (Lib Dem) (Rochdale), Grant Shapps (Con) (Welwyn Hatfield), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724/07917 488 447, email -

Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 for information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).

Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on