Press Notice 37, Session 2005-06

24 April 2006

PASC to take evidence from Sir Alistair Graham and Richard Jarvis on Ethics and Standards

This is the fourth oral evidence session of the Committee’s inquiry into ‘Ethics and Standards’. The session will provide the opportunity to explore with Sir Alistair Graham developments with regard to ethical regulation of public life, ten years since the establishment of the Committee for Standards in Public Life (CSPL). In light of the Prime Minister’s announcements and current controversies it will also be timely to hear from Sir Alistair, given the CSPL’s past pronouncements on the Ministerial Code and honours and funding of political parties.

The evidence session will take place on Thursday 27 April in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House, London SW1.

10am Sir Alistair Graham and Richard Jarvis

Full details of the Committee’s inquiries can be found on the PASC website at


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005.  Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service. The Membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), Julia Goldsworthy (Lib Dem) (Falmouth & Camborne), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Grant Shapps (Con) (Welwyn Hatfield), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724/07917 488 447, email -

Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 for information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on