Press Notice 28, Session 2005-06

15 March 2006

PASC Responds to Ombudsman’s Report on Final Salary Pension Scheme, “Trusting in the Pensions Promise”

Commenting on the publication of the Ombudsman’s report on maladministration of the winding up of the final salary pension scheme, Tony Wright, Chairman of the Commons Public Administration Committee, said:

“This is the second time in a year that the Parliamentary Ombudsman has used her powers to report to Parliament that an injustice has been caused by Government maladministration and will not be remedied. The report is very long and the issues raised need careful consideration but it is obviously a source of great concern that these powers are being used again so soon. I am sure my Committee will wish to consider the matter.”

Notes to editors:

The Ombudsman is laying the report under section 10(3) of the Parliamentary Commissioner Act 1967, which states that “if after conducting an investigation under this Act, it appears to the Commissioner that injustice has been caused … in consequence of maladministration and that the injustice has not been, or will not be, remedied, he may… lay before each House of Parliament a special report.”

The Committee is also currently investigating how the conduct of Government is regulated, the rules governing the publication of political memoirs and ethics and standards regulators.  For full details see the Committee website


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005.  Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service. The Membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), Julia Goldsworthy (Lib Dem) (Falmouth & Camborne), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Grant Shapps (Con) (Welwyn Hatfield), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724/07917 488 447, email -

Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 for information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on