Press Notice 22, Session 2005-06

24 February 2006

PASC to take evidence from Lord Butler of Brockwell, Sir Nicholas Monck and Sir Christopher Foster on Politics and Administration: Ministers and Administrators

This Thursday PASC-the Public Administration Select Committee-will be taking evidence in public on its inquiry into Politics and Administration: Ministers and Civil Servants from Rt Hon Lord Butler of Brockwell KG GCB CVO, Sir Nicholas Monck KCB and Sir Christopher Foster.

The three witnesses will be asked about how we ensure high quality, ethical government.  Should Ministers be given more influence over the appointment of civil servants and public servants?  Should civil servants be more directly accountable?  Should there be explicit standards of governance for government and, if so, what might they be?

The evidence session will take place on Thursday 2 March in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House, London SW1.

10am  Rt Hon Lord Butler of Brockwell KG GCB CVO, Sir Nicholas Monck KCB and Sir Christopher Foster

Full details of the Committee’s inquiries can be found on the PASC website at


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005.  Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service. The Membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), Julia Goldsworthy (Lib Dem) (Falmouth & Camborne), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Grant Shapps (Con) (Welwyn Hatfield), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724/07917 488 447, email -

Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 for information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on