Press Notice 15, Session 2005-06

PASC to publish report following the Ombudsman’s Special Report on ‘A Debt of Honour’: The ex gratia scheme for British groups interned by the Japanese during the Second World War

The House of Commons Public Administration Select Committee’s First Report of the 2005-2006 session on ‘A Debt of Honour’ (HC 735), will be published on Thursday 19 January at 00.01 a.m. Oral and written evidence will be published in the same volume.

Advance electronic copies under embargo will be available at 10.00 a.m. on Tuesday 17 January. Media representatives who would like to receive a PDF copy of the report should contact Jessica Bridges-Palmer on 020 7219 0724 / 07917 488 447.

Copies of the Report can be obtained from TSO outlets and from the Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, Parliament Square, London SW1A 2JX (020 7219 3890) by quoting the appropriate HC number.  The text of the Report will also be available via the Committee’s internet homepage: at 00.01 a.m. on the day of publication.

NOTE: On 12 July 2005 the Ombudsman published a Special Report on ‘A Debt of Honour’: The ex gratia scheme for British groups interned by the Japanese during the Second World War.  The Committee held an inquiry and has now reported.


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005. Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service. The Membership of the Committee is as follows:

Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), Julia Goldsworthy (Lib Dem) (Falmouth & Camborne), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), Grant Shapps (Con) (Welwyn Hatfield), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724/07917 488 447, email -

Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 for information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on