Press Notice 3, Session 2005-06


Departments criticised by the Ombudsman to give evidence

The autumn programme for the House of Commons Public Administration Select Committee-PASC-includes sessions with HM Revenue and Customs and the Ministry of Defence.

David Varney, the Executive Chairman of HM Revenue and Customs, and Ann Abraham, the Parliamentary Ombudsman will give evidence in response to her recent report, critical of the Government's Tax Credits system. This will take place on 20 October at 10.45 am.

The Ministry of Defence will also be asked to give evidence shortly about their failure to accept the Ombudsman's recommendation that all British civilians interned by the Japanese should be eligible for compensation.

The Rt Hon John Hutton MP, Minister for the Cabinet Office, will give evidence on the Government's agenda for public service reform on 1 November at 10.00 am.

The current Committee programme is set out below.

Thursday 20 October: Grimond Room, Portcullis House

Tax Credits and Ombudsman Issues
at 10.45 a.m. Ann Abraham, the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman, Trish Longdon, Deputy Ombudsman and Bill Richardson, Deputy Chief Executive.

at 11.30 a.m. David Varney, Executive Chairman, Paul Gray CB, Deputy Chairman and Sarah Walker, Director of Benefits and Credits, HM Revenue and Customs

Thursday 27 October: Grimond Room, Portcullis House

Government Communication Network
at 10.15 a.m. Howell James CBE, Permanent Secretary, Government Communication

Tuesday 1 November: Wilson Room, Portcullis House

Work of the Cabinet Office
at 10.00 a.m. The Rt Hon John Hutton MP.


Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0718 / 07789 575520, email -
Public Administration Select Committee: Eve Samson, Clerk 020 7219 3498; Clive Porro, Second Clerk 020 7219 3268; Lucinda Maer, Committee Specialist 020 7219 6923
email -; website:    
Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583
Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:
House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 For information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).
Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).

Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on

NOTE FOR EDITORS: The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005.  Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service. The Members are:

Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase)
Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate)
Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater)
Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West)
Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North)
Julia Goldsworthy (Lib Dem) (Falmouth & Camborne)
Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle)
David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne)
Grant Shapps (Con) (Welwyn Hatfield)
Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North)
Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)