Press Notice 2, Session 2005-06

PASC to hear evidence from new Cabinet Secretary

The Committee will be taking oral evidence from the newly appointed Cabinet Secretary and Head of the Home Civil Service, Sir Gus O’Donnell KCB, on Tuesday 11 October at 2.30 p.m. in Portcullis House, London SW1.

This will be the first appearance before the Committee in his new role. The session will also examine the role of political appointees in government, civil service effectiveness and public service reform.

The Rt Hon John Hutton MP, Minister for the Cabinet Office and Howell James, Permanent Secretary, Government communications will follow later in the autumn. A full programme will be published after the summer adjournment.


Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0718, email
Public Administration Select Committee: Eve Samson, Clerk 020 7219 3498; Clive Porro, Second Clerk 020 7219 3268; Lucinda Maer, Committee Specialist 020 7219 6923
email -;
Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583
Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:
House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 For information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).
Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).

Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on

NOTE FOR EDITORS: The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005.  Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service.

The Members are:Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase), Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater), Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West), Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North), Julia Goldsworthy (Lib Dem) (Falmouth & Camborne), Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle), David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne), Grant Shapps (Con) (Welwyn Hatfield), Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North), Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)