Press Notice 1, Session 2005-06

Chairman and membership of the Public Administration Select Committee

The Committee has elected Dr Tony Wright MP to be its chairman.

Declaration of interests

The following is an extract from the Committee’s Minutes of Proceedings for today, Thursday 14 July 2005:

Dr Tony Wright was called to the Chair

The Chairman declared a pecuniary interest as Joint Editor of Political Quarterly (Honorarium only). He also declared the following relevant interests: Member of AUT and Chairman, Centre for Public Scrutiny


The full membership of the Committee is as follows:

Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase)
Mr David Burrowes (Con) (Enfield, Southgate)
Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater)
Paul Flynn (Lab) (Newport West)
Julie Morgan (Lab) (Cardiff North)
Julia Goldsworthy (Lib Dem) (Falmouth & Camborne)
Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle)
David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne)
Grant Shapps (Con) (Welwyn Hatfield)
Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North)
Jenny Willott (Lib Dem) (Cardiff Central)

The interests of all the committee members will be available in due course as an appendix to the Committee’s formal minutes of the first meeting, dated 14 July 2005, on the Committee website.


Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, 020 7219 0724 / 07711 155 722, email -

Public Administration Select Committee: Eve Samson, Clerk 020 7219 3498; Clive Porro, Second Clerk 020 7219 3268; Lucinda Maer, Committee Specialist 020 7219 6923

email -; website:

Chairman: Dr Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

House of Commons Committee Information Line: Tel 020 7219 2033 For information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times (updated daily).

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 702 3474).

Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on

NOTE FOR EDITORS: The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005.  Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service.