PASC 04-05 4

Session 2004-05

Press Notice 4


Sessions on public service choice also announced

PASC-the House of Commons Public Administration Select Committee-takes evidence next Wednesday, 12 January, from two of the major players in the inquiry into the events which led to the resignation of David Blunkett as Home Secretary.

The first witness, at 9.45, will be Sir Alan Budd, Provost of The Queen's College, Oxford, who carried out the inquiry into the application of Leoncia Casalme for indefinite leave to remain. Following him, at about 10.45, will be Sir John Gieve, KCB, Permanent Secretary at the Home Office, who asked Sir Alan to undertake the inquiry. The sessions, part of the Committee's look at Government by Inquiry, will take place in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House, London SW1.      

On Thursday 13 January, the Committee will take further evidence in its inquiry into choice and voice in public services. The witnesses, at 9.45 in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House, will be Professor Harry Brighouse, of Wisconsin University, Dr Philip Hunter CBE, the Schools Adjudicator, and Martin Ward, Deputy General Secretary of the Secondary Heads Association.

John Hutton, MP, Minister of State at the Department of Health, will give evidence in the choice and voice inquiry on Thursday 20 January at 2.15 pm, at a venue to be arranged. At 2.30 pm on Thursday 27 January, two other Ministers- Stephen Twigg of the Department of Education and Nick Raynsford of the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister-will give evidence on the same topic.

* * * * *

For further information please telephone Philip Aylett, Clerk of the Committee on 020 7219 3498

Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Publications and evidence, including uncorrected evidence, is also available on the Internet at

For information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times please call the

House of Commons Committee Information Line on 020 7219 2033 (updated daily).

NOTE FOR EDITORS: The Committee was nominated on 16 July 2001.  Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service.  The members are:

Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase)
Mr Kevin Brennan (Lab) (Cardiff West)
Mr Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North)
Annette Brooke (Lim Dem) (Mid Dorset and Poole North)
Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater)
Mrs Anne Campbell (Lab) (Cambridge)
Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle)
Sir Sydney Chapman (Con) (Chipping Barnet))
Hon Michael Tren (Con) (Windsor)
Mr David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne)
Mr Brian White (Lab) (Milton Keynes North East)