PASC 04-05 2

Session 2004-05

Press Notice No.2


Ruth Kelly to give evidence on work of the Cabinet Office

The chairmen of several major public inquiries will this week appear before PASC-the House of Commons Public Administration Select Committee.

Sir Ian Kennedy, who headed the inquiry into the case of the Bristol heart babies, will give oral evidence to the Committee along with Sir Michael Bichard, chairman of the inquiry into the handling of the Soham murders and Sir Louis Blom-Cooper, who has chaired a number of public inquiries, including that into the death of Jasmine Beckford in 1985. The session, part of PASC’s examination of ‘Government by Inquiry’ which is due to report soon, will take place at 10.15 am on Thursday 9 December in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House, SW1.

An evidence session with Lord Morris of Manchester, who initiated the recent independent inquiry into Gulf War syndrome, will follow at about 11.30 am on 9 December, also in the Grimond Room.

Next week, the Committee will scrutinise the work of the Cabinet Office in an oral evidence session with Ruth Kelly, Minister for the Cabinet Office. This will take place in Room 15, Palace of Westminster (moved from the Grimond Room) at 9.45 am on 16 December.

* * * * *

For further information please telephone Philip Aylett, Clerk of the Committee on 020 7219 3498

Tony Wright may be contacted for press inquiries on 020 7219 5583

Publications and evidence, including uncorrected evidence, is also available on the Internet at

For information regarding forthcoming meetings including venues and times please call the House of Commons Committee Information Line on 020 7219 2033 (updated daily).

NOTE FOR EDITORS: The Committee was nominated on 16 July 2001.  Its terms of reference are to examine the reports of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsmen, and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by Civil Service departments, and other matters relating to the Civil Service.  The members are:

Tony Wright (Chairman) (Lab) (Cannock Chase)
Mr Kevin Brennan (Lab) (Cardiff West)
Annette Brooke (Lim Dem) (Mid Dorset and Poole North)
Mrs Anne Campbell (Lab) (Cambridge)
Sir Sydney Chapman (Con) (Chipping Barnet)
Mr David Heyes (Lab) (Ashton under Lyne)
Mr Kelvin Hopkins (Lab) (Luton North)
Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) (Bridgewater)
Mr Gordon Prentice (Lab) (Pendle)
Hon Michael Tren (Con) (Windsor)
Mr Brian White (Lab) (Milton Keynes North East)